Duruflé Requiem

Sunday 20 June 2021, 5:00 pm

Sheldonian Theatre, Oxford

Duruflé: Requiem

Fauré:  Cantique de Jean Racine

Poulenc: Litanies a la vierge noire & Laudes de Saint Antoine de Padoue

Tavener:  Svyati

Duruflé’s intimate setting of the Requiem Mass is the centrepiece of the OBC’s summer concert. Deeply influenced by Duruflé’s love of plainchant, his Requiem is a masterpiece of French music. The concert will also include Fauré’s well-loved Cantique de Jean Racine, some fine motets by Poulenc, and John Tavener’s characteristically haunting Svyati, for chorus and unaccompanied cello.

Conductor: Benjamin Nicholas

Soloist: Rebecca McNaught Cello Robert Quinney Organ Soloists TBC

Duration: Approx 2 hours (20 minute interval)

Book by phone: Booking details to follow once concert can be confirmed