Beethoven: Symphony No.9 (Choral)

Sunday 19 June 2022, 5:00 pm

Oxford Town Hall

Im our Gala Concert for our 125th Anniversary, the choir will be joined by four first class soloists in Beethoven Symphony No. 9 in D minor, his Choral Symphony with the famous setting of Schiller’s ‘Ode to Joy’.  Composed between 1822 and 1824, this is Beethoven’s final complete symphony and one of his greatest achievements.

The choir and orchestra will also give the premiere of To Spring, a new setting of a poem by William Blake by the exciting young composer Alissa Firsova, which was specially commissioned for our 125th anniversary.  Francis Poulenc’s setting of the Gloria, for soprano, choir and large orchestra, written in 1959, completes the programme in this final concert of our 125th Season from Oxford Town Hall.

Conductor: Benjamin Nicholas

Soloist: Susan Gritton (sop) Katie Bray (alto) Luis Gomes (tenor) James Rutherford (bass)

Book by phone: Booking details to follow